Vendée Globe 2020: the finish line is getting closer

Just a few miles separate the leading group from the finish line of the 2020 Vendée Globe. Dalin, Burton and Herrmann are giving it all to earn their place on the top step of the podium.
In an edition certainly not void of emotions, the final stage might lead to a surprise, proclaiming Boris Herrmann the first non-French winner.
Among the remaining contenders, Herrmann’s boat has the most integrated solar system.
Seaexplorer - Yacht Club de Monaco is equipped with a 1249 Wp photovoltaic plant, designed by the Italian company Solbian, that weighs only 24,5 kg (including the adhesive). Between hydro generators and solar panels, the boat solely relies on renewables which translates in less weight to be carried onboard, a key aspect in terms of performance during the race.
From an ecological point of view, Seaexplorer is about to conclude the race without using any fossil fuel: a further demonstration of reliability from clean energy sources.
Currently in 20th place, the Spanish sailor Didac Costa has committed as well to sustainability, 780 Wp of Solbian solar panels are installed on One Planet One Ocean.
Costa is at his second Vendée Globe, he entered for the first time in the previous edition and although the many technical problems, he was able to cross the finish line and become the second Spanish yachtsman to complete the race.
Further down the ranking, the 25th place is occupied by Ari Huusela, the first sailor ever from the Nordic nations to race round solo.
The Finnish airline pilot, on his IMOCA 60 Stark, rounded Cape Horn on January 25th, at 01.19 UTC, facing less than favourable conditions, as described by the sailor himself “It was not sailing but surviving”.
Ari Huusela’s boat has 390 Wp of solar panels onboard, made of back-contact monocrystalline silicon cells reaching a record 24% conversion of sunlight into electricity.
The first sailors are expected to cross the finish line in Les Sables - d’Olonne on 27th January 2021, but the final ranking will be determined by the Jury after assigning to Boris Herrmann, Yannick Bestaven and Jean Le Cam the time bonus for the rescue of Kevin Escoffier.

Exhibitor Data Sheet